North Carolina Department of Insurance Mandates Payment Deferral Offers
On March 27, 2020, the North Carolina Insurance Commissioner issued an Order invoking the disaster response restrictions and requirements mandated by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-2-46. An amended order was issued March 30th. The statute requires, among other things, that collection agencies offer North Carolina consumers a deferral period of “30 days from the last day the  debt payment may be made under the terms of the  contract.” The Order became effective March 27th and expires, pursuant to the Amended Order, 30 days thereafter.